Regional MGV Training - OSU Lima

Description: 
The Allen County and Hardin County OSU Extension Master Gardener Volunteers will partner to host a Master Gardener Volunteer training course for new Master Gardener Volunteers this spring. The Ohio State University Extension Master Gardener Volunteer Program provides intensive training in horticulture to interested Ohio residents who then volunteer their time assisting with educational programs and activities for Ohio residents through their local Ohio State University Extension county office. Volunteers are not required to have gardening skills or knowledge; but a passion for learning about gardening and sharing this knowledge with others is a must! Classes will be held on the Ohio State University Lima Campus beginning with orientation on Tuesday, March 5 and classes being held each Tuesday and Thursday from 6:00 to 9:00 p.m. beginning March 7 and continuing through April 25. Additionally, a daylong seminar on Saturday, March 16, from 8 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. is required for the course as well. The training course is open to interested volunteers from any county with the volunteer commitment to be completed in the volunteer’s home county program. Specialists from the Ohio State University Extension and experienced Master Gardener Volunteers will be teaching sessions along with some local experts. Some topics include botany, soils, entomology, plant pathology, plant propagation, herbaceous and woody ornamentals, lawns, vegetables, herbs, fruit, pollinators, integrated pest management, pesticide safety, backyard wildlife, houseplants, and therapeutic horticulture. The cost of the training is $150.00 and includes the training manual and materials for the class. There is also a requirement for a background check at the volunteer’s expense. The program requires 50 hours of classroom training and a commitment of 50 hours volunteer time to become a certified Master Gardener Volunteer. Registration deadline is February 26. More information is available at allen.osu.edu or hardin.osu.edu and clicking on the Master Gardener Volunteers link or by calling Gretchen Staley at 419-302-4234 for Allen County or Mark Badertscher at 419-674-2297 for Hardin County. For more information about the Hardin County OSU Extension Master Gardener Volunteers, visit their Facebook page. Go to mastergardener.osu.edu to find out more about OSU Extension Master Gardener Volunteers. You can also email Master Gardener Volunteer Coordinator Dave McPheron (plantman12@windstream.net) for more information and to obtain an enrollment form.
Event date: 
Repeats every week every Tuesday and every Thursday until Thu Apr 25 2019.
Tuesday, March 5, 2019 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Thursday, March 7, 2019 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, March 12, 2019 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Thursday, March 14, 2019 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, March 19, 2019 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Thursday, March 21, 2019 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, March 26, 2019 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Thursday, March 28, 2019 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, April 2, 2019 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Thursday, April 4, 2019 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, April 9, 2019 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Thursday, April 11, 2019 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, April 16, 2019 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Thursday, April 18, 2019 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Tuesday, April 23, 2019 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Thursday, April 25, 2019 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Event location: 
OSU Lima Campus - 4240 Campus Dr, Lima, OH 45804